What is Islam?
General Information

Basics of Islam

Islam is based on the following five principles:

1. To testify “None has the right to be worshipped but Allaah and that Muhammad, sallalahu alayhi wa sallam, is Allaah's Messenger” (La ilaha ill Allaah wa anna Muhammad-ar-Rasul Allaah).

2. To offer the (compulsory congregational) prayers dutifully and perfectly (Iqamat-as -Salat).

3. To pay obligatory charity (Zakat).

4. To perform the Pilgrimage to Makkah (The Hajj).

5. To observe fasting during the month of Ramadhan.

and must believe in the six Articles of Faith, i.e. to believe in:

(I) Allaah,

(2) His Angels,

(3) His Messengers,

(4) His Revealed Books,

(5) the Day of Resurrection, and

(6) Al-Qadar (Divine Preordainments i.e. whatever Allaah has ordained must come to pass).